Asia Cup (ODI & T20I) Cricket Team Records & Stats

One Day International and T20 competitions, termed as Asia Cup, are held every two years with the intention of encouraging peaceful relations between Asian nations. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, the Emirates, Hong Kong, Afghanistan, and Oman have all been participating in the tournament, which is commonly referred to as Asia’s World Cup. Moreover, you can have the details of each Asia cup tournament on the internet.

The Inaugural Asia Cup

In Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, the very first Asia Cup was conducted in 1984. (United Arab Emirates). India took the trophy home during the opening Asia Cup.

In 1986, Sri Lanka hosted the event’s second edition, but India decided to withdraw due to conflict and poor relations. As a consequence of internal affairs in Asia, Pakistan dropped from the 1990 to 91 Asia Cup owing to its poor ties with India. As a consequence of the tense conflicts between India and Pakistan, the 1993 World Cup was prolonged, which made the situation worse.

The base decided to move back to Sharjah after the territorial dispute between Pakistan and India in the 1990s. India and Sri Lanka progressed to the finals, where India embraced the Asia Cup title for the third time.

The bad relationships were eventually given a second opportunity to rehabilitate once the political commotion calmed. Sri Lanka hosted the Asia Cup for the second time, and in that tournament, Sri Lanka overcame India for the very first time, earning their second Asia Cup title.

Recent Magnificent Asia Cup Championships:

1984 (ODI)IndiaSri LankaUnited Arab Emirates
1986 (ODI)Sri LankaPakistanSri Lanka
1988 (ODI)IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1990–91 (ODI)IndiaSri LankaIndia
1995 (ODI)IndiaSri LankaUnited Arab Emirates
1997 (ODI)Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2000 (ODI)PakistanSri LankaBangladesh
2004 (ODI)Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2008 (ODI)Sri LankaIndiaPakistan
2010 (ODI)IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2012 (ODI)PakistanBangladeshBangladesh
2014 (ODI)Sri LankaPakistanBangladesh
2016 (T20)IndiaBangladeshBangladesh
2018 (ODI)India Bangladesh United Arab Emirates
2022 (t20)Sri Lanka Pakistan United Arab Emirates

Match viewership for the Asia Cup was larger than that for any other tournament aside from the World Cup. Moreover, Asia evolved as the emerging cricket powerhouse and the focus of global cricket. Every Asian citizen was gone insane by the cricket excitement and energy. They became a flourishing continent thanks to the sport.

Cricbuzz Asia Cup

The 2000 Cup

The 2000 Asia Cup tournament was a campaign full of failures and thrills. India failed to advance to the championship game for the very first time in the playoff history of the Asia cup and only succeeded in winning one match. In the championship match, Pakistan overcame Sri Lanka. Muhammad Yousuf, also known as Yousuf Youhana, was chosen man of the series.

The 2004 Cup

A new addition to the tournament playoff format in 2004 was the participation of Hong Kong and the United Arab Emirates. For the first time, group stage matches, super fours, and the championship game were divided from one another. 

Throughout the intense competition, the Sri Lankan team competed like kings, and they brutally crushed India in the championship match by a scoreline of 25 runs. The winner of the series’ man title was Sanath Jayasuriya.

The 2008 Cup

After a long gap, the ninth season was conducted in Pakistan. The Sri Lankan team successfully managed to defend its Asia Cup crown by fielding a mysterious spinner against the Indians in the tournament final. The foundation of the Indian batting lineup was decimated by his 6/13. In the 2008 tournament, Ajanta Mendis was awarded the league’s greatest player.

The 2010 Cup

Only Asian teams that played in tests and not the associated team did take part in the tenth edition, which was hosted in Sri Lanka. India soundly defeated Sri Lanka in the tournament final since both teams easily progressed from the qualifying rounds and progressed to the finals. Even though Shahid Afridi was picked as the player and also was awarded the tournament’s player of the year, Pakistan as a whole needed to be better.

The 2012 Cup

Bangladesh’s capital city Dhaka staged the eleventh edition. It was the first time an underdog team, Bangladesh, had triumphed in defeating both India and Sri Lanka in the group phase, earning their place in the tournament final. 

They, unfortunately, fell to Pakistan in the championship game. The hearts were won by Bangladesh, not Pakistan, who brought home the championship title. In addition, Sachin Tendulkar’s 100th century against Bangladesh was experienced during the championship.

The 2014 Cup

In contrast to earlier editions, the twelfth one failed to light the spark. India was unable to advance to the championship round. Pakistan lost in the grand finals after getting it with Sri Lanka. Lahiru Thirimanne was in great form throughout the tournament, scoring 279 runs. He received the 2014 tournament player of the year award.

The 2016 Cup

It was decided that the Asia Cup would be contested once in ODI and once in T20 format on a seasonal basis after the Asian Cricket Council’s strong hold over the ICC was gone. The inaugural T20 Asia Cup took place in 2016, and India led the competition from the start, eventually bringing home the title.

The 2018 Asia cup

One-Day International (ODI) cricket competition, named the 2018 Asia Cup, happened in September of that year in the United Arab Emirates. After defeating Bangladesh by three wickets in the tournament final, India, the league champions, managed to secure their championship.

The 2022 cup

The 2022 Asia Cup was the 15th incarnation of the Asia Cup cricket championship. The matches took place as Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) in the United Arab Emirates in August and September of the same year. After defeating Pakistan in the tournament final, Sri Lanka emerged victorious.


The Asia cup tournaments have been keeping on their legacy for 15 seasons till now. A total of six teams take part in the championship. Cricket enthusiasts are greatly thrilled by the intense matches between such powerful teams. The Asia cup is eventually held after every two years.

Similar Posts

One Comment

  1. Pingback: A Complete Guide to James Franklin's Cricket Career - Stats, Records, and Achievements

Comments are closed.